Gratitude Makes You Stronger.

Niall Leah
3 min readJun 29, 2022

This quote made me reflect on something I’ve learned while traveling.

I came across this quote.

“The struggle ends when the gratitude begins.” Neale Donald Walsch.

It’s beautiful because it’s true. Reflecting on what we should be grateful for whenever we face struggle and hardship can shift our perspective. It’s not easy. Sometimes it’s the hardest thing in the world, but it’s within our power.

However dark the day, there is always something to be grateful for.

As you get a little older, people and things vanish from your life at an increasing frequency. People, relationships, and places. You come to the realization nothing will last forever. You may never get the chance if you don’t appreciate things when you have them.

Traveling highlighted this to me in a powerful way. There are times when I’ve had very little and learned to adore the simple things. Also, I’ve met many people who inspired me that I think I may never meet again.

I’ve lost track of the people I’ve met who changed me somehow for the better. There have been some painful goodbyes, yet I want to focus on how lucky I am to have met these people.

The same can be said for the places I’ve been to. Sometimes the feeling is that I will probably never step…

--

--

Niall Leah

An ex-pat from the UK living in Chengdu, China. I satisfy my endless curiosity about the incredible journey of humanity by reading, traveling, and writing.